Latest News: Forums Technical Wintering my recently purchased wooden Wayfarer 455

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • AUTHOR

Hello all. I have recently purchased a wooden Wayfarer 455 in particularly good condition. I am new to the Association having joined yesterday and new to sailing I obtained my Basics 1 and 2 last year at the ripe old age of 63!! which was last year.

At this stage I am trying to improve my skills as a novice sailor and sail my Wayfarer solo. The boat is moored on a fresh water lake of about 40 acres in the middle of Mote Park in Maidstone and my questions are related to what I need to do to ensure that the boat gets through the winter well. It has been anti fouled and the hull painted recently. It is moored to a buoy and covered with a very thick plastic/pvc covering which is in very good condition but quite difficult to put on whilst the boat is on the water and gets very wet underneath from condensation. Should I purchase a canvas type cover as seems to be the recommendation? The dinghy has self bailers which don’t seem to work and could possible be allowing water in. Is there any sort of check that can be done to see if they are operating correctly?

I do realise that it is not the best option to keep a boat on the water through the winter but I really don’t have the option at this stage.

Any hints and tips about general regular maintenance of a wooden Wayfarer would be most appreciated.

Cheers

Dickie

Obviously the ideal way of storing the boat is on a trolley ashore, but for singlehanded sailing this can be a pain. I dry sail using the car to recover the boat but presumably this is not an option for you? I would still suggest that if there are going to periods of a few weeks when you know that you won’t be sailing, you should try to get the boat out of the water.