Latest News: Forums General which model?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • AUTHOR
    waveney
    Participant

I am new to wayfarers and am looking at W8145 , build date 1985 I believe, but it is fitted with two self bailers. Does this mean it is the SD model? My confusion is that I understood the SD was built after1986.

I am sure this sounds like the sort of question only a real novice would ask, but my concern is that the SD seems to be the model with the poorest reputation or perhaps I have got this wrong too. Any advice gratefully accepted.

Davdor7038

Waveny, Welcome to Wayfarer World. If you look in “Rules and Technical”/ Wayfarer Versions (down the left/hand column) you will be able to find more info. All of the various models may come fitted with self-bailers. Most earlier models have removable floorboards The Wayfarer came in a range of Models, both wood and GRP. First made was the MkI Woodie. Up front it has a full height bulkhead with single hatch and removable floorboards. Next was a MKI GRP boat with full height bulkhead with single hatch and removable floorboards. Then came the most common MKII GRP with a half height bulkhead with removable floorboards and just a small access panel into the buoyancy compartment. All the hatches up front give access to what are actually buoyancy tanks which allow access for some storage. All these models also have a buoyancy tank at the back, again with access to allow storage of light items. The SD has, as far as I know, a sealed floor with buoyancy underneath (no floorboards) as well as a half height bulkhead and circular hatch access to the buoyancy tank plus rear buoyancy tank. It may be fitted with self-bailers. Other more experienced Wayfarers may have better info. Hope this is of some use. Davdor