Latest News: Forums Cruising What to wear for cruising

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • AUTHOR

Hi,

I’m new to sailing, new to this forum, and very excited about both!

Having bitten the sailing bug with friends over the last few months, I bought a Mk1 Wayfarer a couple of weeks ago, and am looking forward to learning to sail her, and take my family (wife, 10, 7, 3 +baby on the way) on some short cruises around the South Wales / North Devon coast.

The burning question I have, is What to wear? My friends – all ex dinghy racers all get togged up in wetsuits when we go out. Starting out from nothing, I am not sure whether to go for good sailing waterproofs, or a wet suit, or a dry suit. I have no intention of capsizing on a regular (or irregular) basis, but not sure just how stable the wayfarer is. My initial thought was to go for good waterproofs and ensure a dry set of clothes is in the locker.

Over the winter, while it is cold & wet, but when the weather is good enough, it is most likely to be just me and my (very robust) 10 year old son (+ experienced friend while I am learning) going out. Come the warmer weather next year, I will get wife and daughters involved as well.

Any advice would be greatly received….

Thanks in advance,

Pete

Anonymous
    Inactive

Peter,

Welcome.

What to wear? Well, may sound silly but depends on your mood and the weather.

When I take a bunch of youngsters on the Broads, my assistants know that if I am in tracksuit and fleece, I WILL stay dry. (OK, the odd gust may think otherwise though). However, if its blowy, or I am in playful mood, my wetsuit goes on and the boys know we are in for some fun.

I normally take part in distance races (around the Broads), for these, I will wear tracksuit and T shirt, with a couple of fleeces and full foulies up front should they be needed.

I dont sail at sea so cant comment what to wear out there.

Anonymous
    Inactive