Latest News: Forums Technical W438 – some newbie questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Zindon

Hello,

I am the owner of W438 ‘Trumpeter’, a mk 1 wooden Wayfarer. She has not sailed for a long time, and I have been restoring her to a usable condition. However, I am new to boat ownership, so am struggling a little bit. I have bought the Wayfarer book, which is great, but doesn’t quite answer all my questions. I have stripped and revarnished the deck, repainted the hull and replaced some of the obviously worn rigging.

Here are some pictures:

This is the boat when I bought it. The foredeck appeared to have been sanded down.

Another shot of the foredeck.

Inside the front buoyancy tank – does that look concerning?

As you can probably see from one of the earlier pictures, the rear buoyancy tank is not accessible, as the section where the hatch fits was removed with a solid piece of wood. I have the original hatch; the previous owner said I could cut a hole and restore the hatch if required. I am a bit loath to cut a hole in my boat – any thoughts on this? He said this had been done to avoid leaks.

This brings me to the bungs:

As you can see from the above, the rear bungs had been filled in and painted over. I scraped this paint off and picked out the filler, thinking I could get new bungs. I have been utterly unable to find anywhere who can supply the brass bungs as used on this boat. I bought some new plastic dinghy bungs, but on attempting to unscrew the old bungs from the transom the screws just disintegrate. I have restored to resealing the holes for the moment. Any thoughts on the best way to proceed with this?

Also you can see from this picture, the rudder pintle was not attached. The previous owner kindly gave me some screws to attach it – however he neglected to tell me the remnants of the old screws were still in the transom. I had to carefully drill them out.