Latest News: Forums Technical Very Very stiff centreboard to be fixed

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • AUTHOR

Howdoo everyone, asking for advice about the following. We have had a very stiff centreboard to move since we got W6610 last June. Trying to solve the problem before launching this year we removed the centreboard yesterday. The board is not warped and there is no distortion in the centreboard casing. However the bolt heads were buried in sealant and on removal only found two washers(brass) in place. One on either side. This bolt appearts to have been tightened that much that the casing has scored the centreboard quite rough. There was no other fitments on the bolt such as nylon sleeves, plastidc tubes,lock nut etc. (we are absolute novices in this maintenance, but the wayfarer book is our source of any reference) When the bolt was first loosened the board would then ‘jiggle’ up and down a few millimetres. Any ideas would be Most Gratefully received. We try to attach some pics of the board. Thanks everyone. Regards. Anthony and Julie. W6610 P.S. have uploaded but not quite sure exactly where to! also one pic wrongly labelledW5510, apologies to W5510!!!!!! A+J.

admin2

Anthony, your pictures have uploaded okay, I have inserted one for you just to check.
    If you edit your post, click on the upload picture button, select the gallery option and you should see your other 3 pictures, choose the one you want then click on the “standard” link – that’s the bit that actually puts the picture in your post.

The rubber “brake” is the only thing that should give any resisitance to the centreboard moving up and down, and you can adjust that with the centreboard in situ on the water.
    It sounds as though you may have inherited a boat with the bolt overtightened. You can check that by removing the brake (the rubber bit on the top edge) and just seeing if the centreboard slides easliy into the case.