Latest News: Forums Cruising Use of Honda 2.3 Engine

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • AUTHOR
    sailfree

I have one of these engines (standard shaft) for use on the dinghy to our big boat.

We race a wooden Wayfarer. I would like to take the grandchildren out in the Wayfarer around Poole Harbour.

Can I hang the Honda off the transom without needing to add a outboard mounting bracket and will it work OK?

Sailing /tacking and waiting for a suitable wind can come later its getting them on the water and enjoying it that I want to do first.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Just happened to be looking in the W handbook earlier today and it suggests you can lift off the rudder and drop some kind of mounting onto the pintles and then hang the outboard off that………..obviously you have no steerage during the changeover. I have no experience of how well this works but it is a recognised method acc to the book!

Anonymous
    Inactive

I’d be a bit wary of hanging 13Kg on the pintles. You should be able to hang it on the transom on temporary protective pads. You adjust the depth of the motor by moving forward or backward in the boat. Watch the main sheet doesn’t get tangled in it.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thought I’d get a reaction as I share your reservation Matt, but surely someone must have done it……..its on p 39 of the bible! Good to hear there are other ways to solve the problem than a permanent shoe and bracket on a racing woodie…..cheers Dave

Anonymous
    Inactive