Latest News: Forums Racing Tacktick compasses

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • AUTHOR

Just a query……….according to the tacktick website (http://www.tacktick.com), there are two digital compasses suitable for dinghies, the Micro compass (expensive at almost £300) and the Racemaster (lottery winning scale, over £500). The Micro compass seems to be permitted by all classes, the racemaster is apparently allowed by the Wayfarer class – is this correct? It is an all singing all dancing intelligent compass, which is not permitted by some classes (470, Enterprise, Fireball, Laser etc etc…….).

Does anyone have experience of the Micro Compass? Advice / Feedback would be good,

Thanks,

Trevor

Fantasia

Both the Micro and the Racemaster are class legal. I have no experience with the Racemaster and it looks rather too complex for me; but I have used a micro for quite a number of years for racing. I find it simple to use and gives good information on wind shifts, start line bias and the timer function is great for starts. Mine cost a lot less than £300, but it probably gives you more gain in your racing than a new genoa for instance.

I am in fact on my second micro as the first one failed to keep its charge after about three years+ (outside waranty period). Tactick sold me a new one at half price to compensate and that one has lasted about five years without a problem.

Swiebertje
    Participant

35.3 Electrically operated instruments or mechanisms. All electrical or electronic devices or instruments are prohibited except for watches, compasses and equipment for the recording of sound or pictures, unless otherwise permitted or required by the Sailing Instructions.