Latest News: Forums Technical Spinnaker running rigging

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dave Barker 11 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • AUTHOR

Kez
    Participant

I am finally getting around to rigging the spinnaker on my Mk 2, Kez.  When I bought her as a fixer-upper it seemed that the previous owners had read all the books and fitted every combination of cleat, fairlead, block, Barber Hauler, etc and an early stage of restoration was to remove all the tat and start again.  I have cruised her very happily without a spinnaker for a few years but when sailing in company we get left behind as soon as the rest of the fleet breaks out an extra sail.

May I confess to never having sailed any dinghy, let alone a Wayfarer under spinnaker so I have no experience to draw on. On the plus side that frees me to be innovative as I am not tempted to copy others.

The pole uphaul is causing me to scratch my head somewhat at the moment, I have read versions where a length of shock cord goes up the mast but that doesn’t seem a very good idea, too much potential for wrapping around halyards.

I am playing with the idea if running the shock cord element (to lift the pole) under the fore deck, so the route us (wait for it…) from the loop on the pole, up to the pole uphaul sheave into the mast, down to the mast heel exiting on one of the forward sheaves.  Thence up to adiverter block on the front of the mast, level with the pivot hole and then forward under the fore-deck.  An Inglefield clip allows the transition to shock cord which passes forward to a block right up in the bows and back to be tied off to a lacing eye under the breakwater.

The whole piece would need to be adjusted to achieve the correct tension but essentially after that would not need to be tweaked.  An advantage would be that the shockcord (under the deck)  is protected from UV but can be replaced easily when it eventually loses its twang.