Latest News: Forums Technical Removing Centreboard afloat?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Grerobe

Hi, This is my first attempt at a message board!

Like others I would like to remove my centreboard. Doing it afloat seems to make most sense to me – has anyone done it this way?

thanks

Swiebertje
    Participant

Yes, I did it like that once.

Dave Barker
    Keymaster

Hi Grerobe,

Forgive me if I’m stating the obvious here, but the main reason that this isn’t the technique everyone uses is that water will start flowing into the boat as soon as you loosen the centreboard bolt.

I haven’t personally tried the afloat method, but I would imagine that not only would speedy work be essential to recover the boat onto the trolley (or beach etc.), but also when re-fitting the board it could be quite awkward both to get the holes lined up (lines marked on the board and the top of the case are helpful, as is a thin screwdriver to “find” the hole in the board) and to fit and tighten the nut/bolt/washer/bush combo while simultaneously working against the clock with cold water flowing out of the holes in the case all over your hands, tools and fastenings.

By way of contrast I do have personal experience of removing the board ashore. With the launching trolley in its most “front down” position (jockey wheel removed) I used old car tyres in stacks of 3 or 4 to fit snugly under the bilge rails behind the trolley. I then raised the front of the trolley and wedged more tyres under the front of the boat in the triangular gap in the centre of the trolley.