Latest News: Forums Technical Reefing – what is best for the tack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • AUTHOR
    revoli

As a newbie I am looking for advice on what to do at the tack for slab reefs. I am using the Cunningham at present but this is a bit of a fiddle in a stiff breeze when sailing solo. Horns seem to be an option but I cannot find any suppliers. I have alloy Proctor mast and am happy to rivet something in place once know it’s right for me. What is the collective wisdom here. Thanks

Davdor7038

Welcome, Revoli. The Wayfarer Institute of Technology website gives plenty of information about reefing. It’s a great resource of information. Look at the right hand column “shorten sail”. You’ll find it easily through http://www.wayfarer-international.org which also lists various other Wayfarer related matters. Safe Sailing, Davdor

I used to just lash the tack down, but found this quite slow.
    A friend used to have horns on the gooseneck fitting; this was pretty good, until they broke off! The main disadvantage was that you needed to have the boom on the gooseneck whilst you reefed. To get luff tension, this meant sweating up the halyard manually.
    As you probably know it is much easier to get luff tension if you leave the boom hanging free, and cleat off the halyard before pushing down on the boom to get it on the gooseneck.

I’ve now got a horn on the boom itself. This allows me to put in the reef either underway or before I set off- and most of the time I reef before I go.
    I made the horn out of a shackle, which I sawed a piece off. Maybe a little hard to describe without a photo. To mount it, I removed the split pin which normally holds the tack of the sail, and put a small bolt through there instead, with the new hook mounted on it.