Latest News: Forums Technical Reefing Mainsail

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am trying to get my head around adding slab reefing to my wayfarer.

I am new to all this….so i am reading a lot in the wayfarer book and in this forums, and u-tube videos.

I dont suppose someone has a complete picture or drawing of the side of a main sail and boom showing the reefing points and lines? and which lines go where?

Thanks,

Rob

Bob Harland
    Participant

Rob, not sure if you have seen this article;
    http://wayfarer.org.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=200&Itemid=140

hope that helps
    bob

Anonymous
    Inactive

ah yeah thanks Bob, i have seen that one.

My problem is that I havent seen a reefing system on a real wayfarer, only pictures, but i cant find a full picture of the sail and mast. Hopefully it will help me understand how the lines and reefing points are in perspective of the whole sail.

Rob.

howard

Hi

It is easier to look at a boat if you can find one near you. If it helps this is about the only picture I have that shows the general setup. I’m not sure if the forum will retain the resolution of this pic – email me if you want higher resolution.

The leech pennants are tied to boom sliders (as wayfarer article) go up to the leech cringles on the port side, then come down the sail to run through blocks tied to the same sliders on starboard, they then run forward through eyes midway on the boom (to minimise sagging rope) to racing cleats just above the kicker.

The luff is reefed via a Cunningham – you can see the setup if you zoom in – the hook is through the Cunningham eye in this photo..

This was the first time out with this deep reefing setup – I usually pre-set the leech pennants, they are too tight here and were soon fixed, however I’d forgotten to lengthen the Cunningham which is why it is not hooked into the first reef, which is its usual home.

Dave Bevan