Latest News: Forums Technical Rear buoyancy Tank

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Joe Portlock
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m new to Wayfarer sailing so apologies if this topic is already covered.

I recently bought a Mk2 Wayfarer and the rear buoyancy tank is filled with styrofoam sheets.

I’m aware that you don’t want too much weight at the back, however it does seem like a waste of space especially when cruising.

I am sure the tank is watertight after replacing the gasket and fittings so I am wondering if it is needed at all and If it is needed is there a neater solution such as buoyancy bags?

Thanks,

Kez
    Participant

It’s insurance Joe.  If you have managed to make the rear buoyancy chamber air-tight then well done you, but what if you capsize and a catch fails? If that chamber floods, even if you recover from a capsize or a swamping, the top of the centreboard slot will be underwater, meaning that you cannot bail her out.

I think I have read somewhere that your Wayfarer needs to have 40 litres of buoyancy to prevent this situation, ideally fixed in somehow so any buoyancy blocks or bags don’t  float out if the lid comes off. Btw, make sure the lid is buoyant and tied on.

Murphy’s law applies during a capsize, if it can go wrong it (probably) will.

Joe Portlock
    Participant

Brilliant, Thanks for the reply.

Bob Harland
    Participant

One of the original design requirements was that the boat would not sink even if the buoyancy tanks were compromised and the boat was completely waterlogged. So when the design changed from wood to GRP some permanent buoyancy was incorporated in the build. Typically this was in the rear buoyancy tank, glassed in under the deck, and some looser fitting polystyrene blocks under the side decks. Without these additions a GRP boat would sink if the buoyancy tanks flooded.