Latest News: Forums Technical Pivot Pin

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Elsegood

I am a novice Wayfarer and have just purchased a MK11 9365. The boat did not come with a proper Pivot Pin and we are at the head scratching stage and would be grateful for any advice.

Can any bolt be used for the purpose and if so wehat would be the ideal diamater. I originally thought that this would have to be a tight fit but I think i have read somewhere that soem play is desirable. I’m presuming the pin is kept in place one the sail is up and that the mast once tuned is held in place by ‘chocks’ I know its a noddy question but do I have that right?

Thanks & regards to all Paul

Bob Harland
    Participant

Paul, you are correct about the pin, it’s use is only for pivoting the mast when raising or lowering. When sailing there should not be any pressure on the pin and it should rotate freely.
    The class rules state a pivot pin diameter 6mm (1/4″), there’s an example on Trident’s shop;
    http://shop.trident-uk.com/acatalog/Other_Spar_Fittings8.html

You certainly want to use plain rod rather than a bolt, I would guess it’s pretty easy to make one yourself if you have access to suitable materials and tools.

bob

PS
    If anyone knows where you can get mini R clips rather than split rings/pins perhaps they could let us know.

Elsegood

Thank you for your promt response Bob. It’s all coming clear now and what a fantastic service from UKWA. Given that the pin has no mast supporting role does the mast just sit there standing on the foot held in place by the forestay and shrouds. If so I guess the chocks then come into play. I don’t have any of these but I’ve seen elsewhere that they can be easily made up. I wondered if the rubber tapered door stops you see might work in a pinch.