Latest News: Forums Cruising Outboard motor

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Kilda
    Participant

I am looking at buying a new or near new 4 stroke outboard for my Wayfarer.
    I am new to Wayfarer cruising and have just bought “Wotnot again”, a coposite 73′ mk.1a rigged for racing. My first purchase was a 5lb cqr, a 7lb grapnel, 10 meters of 8mm chain and 100meters of 10mm 3 strand nylon rope.
    The Macnamara main has been sent for 2 reefing points and i still need a working and storm jib.
    I have a Seagull outboard bracket bracket and the big questions i have are-: Do i need a long, short or standard shaft length and what hp. would be sufficiant? I can imagine that if i needed it, i would NEED IT and so want it to start first crack. I like the honda 2.3 hp’s price but is it big enough to stem Morcambe bay’s 4knot tides?
    Any help would be great, thanks,
    Kilda!

Dave Barker
    Keymaster

Hi Kilda – welcome to the forum! Another composite boat.

I like the low weight of the Honda and the air cooling appeals to me, in principle anyway. The only part I’m not sure about is the throttle/centrifugal clutch. I’m used to a Yamaha with conventional throttle and separate gear selection (F or N) and often run it at or just above idling speed, which is really quiet and surprisingly fast in low wind speeds (which is when you tend to use your engine). But I know that many W owners use the Honda very successfully, in fact I would say that it’s probably the most common 4-stroke engine amongst the people that I have sailed with, and would be very high on my list if I needed a replacement.