Latest News: Forums Technical No mast step?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  W4479 2 weeks, 2 days ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • AUTHOR

W4479
    Participant

Hello all. I am new to the Wayfarer and generally new to sailing altogether so please forgive my ignorance in these matters. We have very fortunately acquired a Wayfarer MK2 GRP. It’s not in the very best of conditions but is perfectly adequate and I have been informed she floats! However we picked up the boat on its trailer and have not seen her rigged or on the water. The plan was to refurbish and replace what we could over winter and be ready to sale in early spring. However, winter refurbishments did not happen and we are now setting-to with the hope of being on the water before Easter.

Anyway, to the point of this post. We have no mast step? Upon inspecting the bottom of the mast it is simply capped flat with a plastic end cap. The mast step area is simply empty – there is no wood or track, but does have a couple of screws and some fairly bashed up grp. Could anybody advise if there is an easy solution and what is required to hold the mast or would we need to start thinking about new mast heel plug and a new mast step. We are not looking to race but just wish to sail safely. The Wayfarer has definitely been used previously for cruising, however we are also informed that she has previously been measured. Thank you.

W4479
    Participant

Scotty
    Participant

Hi,

Looking at your photo, you are missing something like this. https://www.tridentuk.com/gb/product-mast-step-assembly-w-pins-sn510-148-02.html

This fits along the centre line of the gap over the damaged GRP. The mast should have a bottom fitting with a tongue that locates in this fitting.

This photo shows the MK4 version.

Dave Barker
    Keymaster