Latest News: Forums Technical Mast head buoyancy

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • AUTHOR

Having had such helpful advice from fellow members on my previous enquiry regarding outboard brackets, I am encouraged to ask a further question on a different subject, namely mast head buoyancy, about which I have little knowledge and no experience.

Many cruising articles talk about mast head buoyancy as being essential for off-shore sailing. I have tried to contact the advertisers of such a product in older magazines but they appear to have moved or gone out of business.

Has anyone any first-hand experience on this subject? In particular, does it work? What particular system and from where? What happens if inflated – i.e. can one deflate; if not, are there problems with windage? Are there any complications in setting it up on a Mk 1 Wayfarer with ‘gold’ mast?

As a new member, I look forward to advice and assistance.

Mike

W10143

David

Thanks for your prompt advice. Will follow up.

Mike

W10143

Mike

No problem. As you will probably ascertain, I used to use an Echomax 60L inflatable radar reflector fitted on an uphaul with a downhaul to hold it tight to the mast. I now have a 40L secumar on the same fittings – the Echomax was permanently inflated and suffered from chafe which eventually permanently deflated it….. đŸ˜•

David

Mike,