LATEST NEWS: Forums General Looking for registered Mk1 with sail number around 3380

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Sean Fitzpatrick 3 weeks, 3 days ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • AUTHOR

Sylvain Caro
    Participant

Good evening,

I’m new at the UKWA, and I’ll first ask you to excuse my bad english : I write you from France.

I bought my first Wayfarer last sunday, am very happy of this, and come to you because I need a very simple help to help me with french administration.

My Wayfarer was built in 1973, and so did not have specific papers, certification number.
    But administration needs a certification number… who doesn’t exists, to identificate myboat, and so give me registration number!

So they asked me to find a Wayfarer owner whose sail number is very near from W3380 and so to ask to him his registration number.
    It will permit them to indificat emy boat, because without official identification, my boat will be classified in a “amateur construction” and, as it happenned to another french owner, it will take a very long while before they make me this simple registration paper!

So is there someone who’s boat has a Sail Number close to W3380 and who will be so kind to indicate to me his registration number?

Many thanks to you for havnf read this!

Best regards,

Sylvain, from Bordeaux, France

Web Team
    Keymaster

Hi Sylvain,

First, welcome to UKWA and to the forum. Also, congratulations on buying your Wayfarer!

May I ask a few questions to help us UK sailors to understand the problem?

• Is your boat wood or GRP (or composite)?
    • What is the reason for registration of boats in France?
    • Can you sail without being registered?
    • What information do the “administration” require to be able to complete your registration process? (Size, weight, materials, first owner, price paid, name of builder…?)