Latest News: Forums Technical Jib Furling Systems – an enquiry!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 39 total)
  • AUTHOR

Folks
    I’m new to wayfaring and the forums, and have just bought a wonderful Woodie from Jackie Dobson. The boat is beautifully set up to race, but I’m looking at reefing options for the jib/genoa when sailing with my kids (particularly my 12 year old daughter!).

I’ve used jib furlers on other boats – mainly for keeping the sail quiet whilst launching, but also to depower the boat in more boisterous conditions – so I’m interested in this option but can’t find anything on the forums about the best systems to use.

I’d love to hear of any cautionary tales or helpful experinences or recommendations!

(bear in mind I’m a relative novice and may easily get overwhelmed by technicalities!)

“Boris” W6330

tempest51

Andrew,
    Look in the cruising section and under Helyar reefing

Bob Harland
    Participant

thanks chaps – really not sure how I managed to miss that article!

Having read this, am I right to conclude that the issue here is that a simple drum and swivel system without the furling spar is unstable when sailing partially furled? I’d be interested to know how likely this upper genoa unfurling is to occur in practice. I hadn’t really appreciated that the drum and swivels are really just a quick and convenient way of getting the jib/genoa out of the way completely (which is still very handy when dealing with kids who may be choosing launching and landing times for a spot of intense family dynamics)

I’ll need to chew this over since I can’t really afford this very expensive bit of kit just now! I can see that when cruising there is an option to swap sails reasonably easily, and on our club reservoir situation you can pick your sail to suit the situation before setting out.

tempest51