Latest News: Forums Technical Forestay ‘issues’ – help please

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • AUTHOR

Hi

Any help/advice gratefully received!
    I have a MK4 with a furling drum on the jib. I like it when it works but I invariably manage to get the jib tangled up with the forestay. I’ve tried using a plastic ‘frisbee’ to keep the jib and forestay apart and also a metal triangle (supplied with the boat I think) with only moderate success. Is there a better solution? I also have a Laser 2000 where the recommended solution is to remove the forestay once the jib is raised and tie it to the mast or a shroud. Is there any good reason why I can’t do the same thing with the Wayfarer? I’ve never seen anyone else do it but why not? Anyone any thoughts please?
    James

Swiebertje
    Participant

@jamesandrew wrote:

Is there any good reason why I can’t do the same thing with the Wayfarer?

No.

I have been sailing with a reefing-furler for 8 years now and I never use a forestay other then the one inside the furling spar. I did oversize the stay (in teh furler) by an extra millimetre though, just to be sure. So, if anyting breaks it will be the halyard, not the “stay”. But on sea voyages I tend to add a “forestay” between the top swivel and the mast to prevent the mast dropping down on me should the Genoa halyard break. Because rigging the boat with the safety wire on the swivel is complicated I tend to use it only when a voyage really demands it.

Note that while racing I do use a standard racing Genoa and a forestay simply because the rules demand it.

I think the solution depends a bit …

Are you mainly racing, or cruising? and how often do you set the boat up from scratch? (i.e. step the mast etc)