Latest News: Forums Cruising Fenders!

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • AUTHOR
    Alistair Osborn
    Participant

Hi all, I’m new to wayfarer cruising, having recently moved to Falmouth and acquired a boat. One of the things I’m struggling with is a decent fender arrangement though – I find the gunwales are just the right height to get chipped against the various pontoons we’ve tied up too. Has anyone got anything that works for them?

Many thanks in advance,

alastair and family

Wise Old Elf

Mark Foreman
    Participant

For cruising, I’d have to recommend a hardwood rubbing strake on a MK4. Stops the chipping and with screws at about 30cm, also adds strength to the seam joint which can help maintain buoyancy if the boat takes a hard knock. Also useful for fixing a tent too. Then a couple of fenders to keep the boat away from the heading most of the time.

Mark Foreman
    Participant

For cruising, I’d have to recommend a hardwood rubbing strake on a MK4. Stops the chipping and with screws at about 30cm, also adds strength to the seam joint which can help maintain buoyancy if the boat takes a hard knock. Also useful for fixing a tent too. Then a couple of fenders to keep the boat away from the heading most of the time.

Bob Harland
    Participant

Hi, we carry two fenders. On each shroud we have some plastic tube that goes up from deck level to just below goosneck height – part of the tent frame support. We can then hang a fender from the shroud vertically over the gunwale.

If we need a second fender then a combination of the rowlock and aft spinnaker lead.

Hope that helps.
    bob

jmcc500
    Participant