Latest News: Forums Cruising Anchor set-up recommendations

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • AUTHOR

One of my winter jobs is to review my current anchor, chain and warp set up, so I thought the starting point would be to canvass opinions from cruisers on the forum. If anyone would care to list what anchor / chain / warp (types, weights, diameters) etc they use and maybe offer any comments as to what conditions they’ve been used in and how successfully, it would be much appreciated.

Jonathan
    W2312
    Shuna

Swiebertje
    Participant

I have been using an Aluminium Fortress anchor for the past ten years or so. It has 5 meters of 6mm chain and 25 meters of warp. The warp is 8 mm three strand nylon. This sort of nylon rope stretches up to 20% and damps the pitching of the boat quite well. Then there is an anchor drum mounted on an extended mast pivot pin. It allows me to set the anchor quickly. Getting the warp back on the drum is a nuisance but I never have an entangled warp when I need the anchor. After all, an anchor is a safety device that has to be at the ready at all times.

The anchor itself is stowed on the floorboard as far forward as possible as to allow the crew maximum space. The anchor lies in a cradle made of three small hardwood blocks. The pointy bits go inside two of these blocks. The third block locks the shank in place with the help of a bungee cord. The bungee allows me to unlock the anchor quickly from its cradle while it keeps the anchor firmly in place while sailing. The drum is locked with a small SS hook that goes in the chain. The hook is fixed to the aft side of the foredeck by a short piece of 3 mm rope. Setting the anchor involves unhooking the chain and lifting the anchor from its cradle by moving a bungee aside. This takes only a second or two, then the anchor is ready to go.