LATEST: Forums Technical All alone in California with one hundred questions to ask, lol

This topic contains 14 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Kez 1 week, 3 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • AUTHOR

Damien Austin
    Participant

I am in California USA and just acquired this Porters built 2000 Wayfarer. I have never sailed and am a complete beginner so I thought this would be a good boat to learn with. I have since discovered this may be the only Wayfarer on the west coast of the US and as such I have no support group or individuals to seek help from.

Is there anyone here that would be willing to answer the one hundred questions I have in order to learn everything about my Wayfarer? Is it possible to get a copy of the owners manual (if one was available) just so at the very least I can understand how to set up the basic rigging?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers, Damien

Here are some pics of what I have (before cleaning).

Damien Austin
    Participant

Question number one!

In the pic below, has someone transposed the mast rigging? The pic is shown in the upright position.

It would seem to me, the wire cable (which I think is the jib halyard) should be running on the steel roller and not the plastic roller?

As it is set up now, there would be interference from the blue rope running vertical with the mast.

Kez
    Participant

Very nice looking boat, you have chosen wisely.

First thing to do is get a copy of the Wayfarer Book, order it from the UKWA website, about $20 plus postage. It is a goldmine of information. I can hear all the other Forum members agreeing.

In it you will find answers to 90 of your 100 questions. The remaining 10 will be about things you are free to customise.  Most of us have our own funny arrangements for rig tensioning, kicker adjustment etc.