Welcome to the UKWA Home Page Forums Racing Twin spi poles Re: Re: Twin spi poles

#10879
mckechnie
Member

Does it say anywhere in the rules that one can’t carry two poles in the boat? Only one is out at any one time. One interpretation would be that the rules “define the pole that is being used at any one time”. I never have two poles out holding the spinnaker, at any one time. One is out whilst the other is retracted. The “not in use” pole returns to the side of the main boom, under elastic, in the place where everyone else normally carries their spnnaker pole anyway. Perhaps the correct terminology of the system I use should be “automatic pole launch system” [ note the use of the word pole in the singular!] rather than “twin pole system”. Anyway, I agree, a dispensation would help everyone considering such a system.