Welcome to the UKWA Home Page Forums Racing Twin spi poles Re: Re: Twin spi poles

#10877
Geof
Member

In my opinion the answers to Big Als questions are:
Carbon Poles – not currently allowed.
Rule 28.1 Materials shall be metal or wood

Twin Poles – probably OK but could do with definitive clarification statement. You could argue that ‘the pole’ that you are using at any one time is compliant with class rules and nowhere does it say that you can only have a single pole on board. If you used both poles at once during a gybe then you would be in breach of the class rules so you would have to remove one before setting the other. All my own opinion FWIW.