2018 Season Finale at Bough Beech SC (with results table)

Wayfarer Finale at Bough Beech decides Craftinsure National Circuit Series © Tim Townsend

The Wayfarer Finale sailed at Bough Beech SC over the weekend of 10/11 November 2018 proved to be a fitting end to the UKWA’s racing programme for the year. Eighteen teams congregated in the dinghy park on Saturday morning just in time for rain to ease. The forecast was for a SSW breeze on both days, perfect for the orientation of the lake; at 16-25 mph on Saturday and 18-30 mph on Sunday. In the event the wind was lighter than forecast on both days although there were some juicy gusts on Sunday which troubled a few boats.

The open meeting was billed as the winner-takes-all shootout to decide the Craftinsure National Circuit Series between Andrew and Tom Wilson who had led the series for many months and Michael McNamara and Simon Townsend, the only crew with a chance of catching them. As usual, a strong fleet had assembled at Bough Beech and there were several boats looking to win the open meeting if not the overall series. Andrew and Tom did all they could. They led the fleet at the first mark in all four races. However, the gods conspired against them and eventually it was Michael and Simon who enjoyed a clean sweep of wins and with them victory in the open meeting and in the National Circuit Series. ...read more

BBSC Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4Pts
1st10648Michael McNamaraSimon TownsendRollesby Broad SC(1)1113
2nd11050Guy MarksMel TitmusBough Beech SC(4)4329
3rd10688Bill WhitneyJohn SheltonShoreham SC(6)34411
4th11170Brian LambSam PygallWilsonian SC2(8)8313
5th88Martin Rouse-CollenDonna Rouse-CollenUpper Thames SC35(10)513
6th10974Richard StoneCatherine GoreMedway YC575(9)17
7th11012Tim TownsendJacqueline TownsendMedway YC(8)67619
8th11093Andrew WilsonTom WilsonDatchet SC(OCS)22DNF23
9th10828Derek LambertOliver Lanson-GoreDatchet SC12(14)6725
10th11211Mark LeeJane LeeMedway YC7139(DNF)29
11th10686Brian McKenzieLiz McKenzieMedway YC109(14)1029
12th11118John GoudieSam BonifaceWilsonian SC91011(13)30
13th9494Barry WolfendenAlexBough Beech SC11(12)12831
14th10673Dave RobertsTinu CornishBough Beech SC1311(RET)1236
15th7470Elliot MarksJess GillettBough Beech SC(16)16131140
16th11129Paul HughesTracey VillaArun YC141515(DNS)44
17th8595Simon WinnSarah MasonMYC/BBSC15(18)161445
18th11218James MaynardDebbie MaynardBough Beech SC1717(DNC)DNC53