Craftinsure Wayfarer National Circuit and Travellers’ Trophy Series 2023 Update

by Sam Pygall 15 Oct 13:56 BST

Wayfarer Nationals at Dabchicks © Tim Wood

Supported by McNamara Sails and Hartley Boats

The UK Wayfarer fleet has enjoyed a fantastic Craftinsure circuit of seven events across the UK this year, including a highly successful Nationals at Dabchicks Sailing Club.

This season has seen 52 individual competitors across the events so far, with an average of 13 boats per event. The fleet has had familiar faces at the front of the fleet, including Andrew and Tom Wilson (our new 2023 National Champions), who have won three events and John Clementson and Mel Titmus who themselves have won two events. Circuit stalwarts Nigel and Belinda O’Donnell have also enjoyed a maiden Circuit win at West Oxfordshire and Eden Hyland and Will Gould claimed the Inland Championships (supported by Hartley Boats) at Blithfield Sailing Club. Other podium placing teams at events across the course of the season include Ian Foxwell and Sam Pygall, Graham Hoy and Rob Haigh, Will Powell and Rob Gaskell, Colin Goodman and Lexie Goodman, Mattie and David Evans and Louise McKeand and Nigel Hall.


As Autumn draws in and with one Craftinsure UKWA event left to sail, Andrew and Tom Wilson lead the Travellers standings from multiple Travellers trophy winners Nigel and Belinda O’Donnell. The Travellers is decided on all the scores across all events. Tim and Jacqueline Townsend are currently completing the podium in the Travellers series. John and Mel and John Goudie and Sam Boniface completed the top five. In the Circuit standings (where scoring is based on the top three results and one salt water and one fresh water needs to be counted), Andrew and Tom Wilson are also on top, followed by John and Mel with Ian Foxwell and Sam Pygall in 3rd.


With the traditional Finale over the weekend of the 11th and 12th November and the National Circuit and Travellers overall standings will soon be decided, alongside a prize draw courtesy of the Circuits Sponsors, Craftinsure, Hartley Boats and McNamara Sails.

Craftinsure National Circuit and Travellers Trophy Results:


Datchet WaterFWJohn Clementson and Mel TitmusAndrew and Tom WilsonIan Foxwell and Sam Pygall
West OxfordshireFWNigel and Belinda O’DonnellJames Nicoll and James BallMatt Batterton and Marion Turberfield
ParkstoneSW – WesternsJohn Clementson and Mel TitmusMichael McNamara and Simon TownsendAndrew and Martin Wilson
MedwaySW – EasternsAndrew and Tom WilsonIan Foxwell and Sam PygallMichael McNamara and Simon Townsend
DabchicksSW? Nationals (over 20 entries)Andrew and Tom WilsonGraham Hoy and Rob HaighWill Powell and Rob Gaskell
BlackwaterSWAndrew and Tom WilsonColin Goodman and Lexie GoodmanMattie Evans and David Evans
BlithfieldFW – InlandsEden Hyland and Will GouldLouise McKeand and Nigel HallJohn Clementson and Mel Titmus

Note: Southerns at Shoreham cancelled owing to adverse weather conditions

Current standings (Travellers):

The low points scoring system defined in Appendix A4 of the RRS will be used for the Travellers’ Trophy Series except that in events where there are 20 or more entries, the first three boats will score 0.5, 1.5 and 2.5 respectively.


PosHelmCrewSail NoPts
1stAndrew WilsonTom/Martin Wilson1109364.5
2ndNigel O’DonnellBelinda O’Donnell11282111
3rdTim TownsendJacqueline Townsend11012116
4thJohn ClementsonMel Titmus11101168
5thJohn GoudieSam Boniface11118195

Current standings (Circuit):

National Circuit Series Scoring The low points scoring system defined in Appendix A of the RRS will be used for the National Circuit Series except that in events where there are 20 or more entries, the first three boats will score 0.5, 1.5 and 2.5 points respectively. Three National Circuit Series events, at least one of which shall be sailed on Freshwater and one on Saltwater, are required to be completed to constitute a series. A boat’s score will be the total of her best three event scores provided that the three qualifying races include one Freshwater event (F) and one Saltwater event (S) as shown in the Schedule.


PosHelmCrewSail NoPts
1stAndrew WilsonTom/Martin Wilson110933.5
2ndJohn ClementsonMel Titmus111015
3rdIan FoxwellSam Pygall1117011
4thNigel O’DonnellBelinda O’Donnell1128215
5thTim TownsendJacqueline Townsend1101220
6thJohn GoudieSam Boniface1111822

Statistics and insights:

  • There have been 52 separate entries to the Craftinsure National Circuit and Travellers so far.
  • Excluding the nationals there has been an average entry of 11 boats per UKWA Craftinsure event
  • Including the nationals there have been an average entry of 13 boats per event
  • Three teams have competed in 6 out of 7 events
  • Two teams have completed 4 out of 7 events
  • Three teams have completed 3 out of 7 events